Website Comment:

This is the official For The People Errata (AH version). The Question and Answer section of this website contains other information which clarifies, but doesn't modify the rules. This errata supercedes any perceived contradictions between this section and the Q & A section.
Mark Herman

For The People (AH Version) Errata (As of 12/20/98)

For The People Errata (As of 12/20/98)
All modifications to the rules are to be considered official for the Avalon Hill version of the game only.
Rule 2.2: (Addition) There is no Strategic Movement on the first turn of the Campaign game.
Rule 2.6: (Addition) All spaces in KY, WV, and MO (except the St Louis space which begins under Union control and the Columbus, KY and New Madrid, MO spaces which begin under Confederate control) are neutral and are initially not controlled by either side.
Rule 4.42: (Addition) An unrevealed general can not be placed in command of an army if revealed Generals are present. An army can be still be created around an unrevealed general if no revealed Generals are present.
Rule 5.10: (Addition) Confederate Generals with SPs and Confederate Armies can move along these routes.
Rule 5.31: (Addition) A Cavalry General can not conduct Corps move.
Rule 5.32: (Addition) A Corps move through a space containing a friendly army is not automatically incorporated into that army.
Rule 5.32: (Clarification) Corps Activation For the purpose of these rules a corps is one or more Generals stacked with SPs without an army marker.
1. The general in command of a corps is the General with the highest political value. If a tie, owner's choice.
2. If a general starts a phase in command of a corps he cannot be relieved of command by moving or stripping him of all the SP's. He must end up the phase commanding a corps of at least 1SP unless his corps is destroyed in battle. Exception: if the general ends up in a stack with another general, the higher ranking general would now have command. Also the general could end up being incorporated into an army if it ends its movement in the Army's space. Here are several examples:
a. If a general is stacked with 1-3 SP's you could not make a division move to strip all SP's from the general. At least one SP must be left behind.
b. If during a corps movement a general (who is stacked with an SP) is picked up, he must either be dropped off during movement with at least 1 SP or he remains with the new stack (possibly taking over command if he is higher ranking for subsequent activations).
3. Rule 2 above is not superceded by rulebook 5.6 (General reorganization). The end result of using 5.6 must be as in one of the above examples. If a general begins the phase in command of a corps he must end the phase in command of a corps (although it could be a different corps) or stacked with a corps with a higher ranking general, or stacked with an army as a subordinate general.
4. The highest ranking non-commanding general in an army may not leave the army either by being dropped off or with a corps move or by the use of rule 5.6. Using 5.6 you could move in a higher ranking general and move out the now superceded general in the same move. Essentially you are stuck with the highest ranking non-commanding general in an army.
5. Cavalry generals or subordinate generals who are not the highest ranking may be moved or dropped from an army by themselves. Also the non-commanding general of a corps could be move out by himself.
Rule 5.5: (Clarification and Change -- the whole rule is reproduced for clarity)
. Design Note: Cavalry brigades are raiding forces whose main function is to cut LOCs. They are not faster Corps movements designed to capture territory. Although the game doesn't use explicit cavalry SPs, a cavalry general with a SP is effectively the equivalent. The intent is once formed and moved as a cavalry brigade, the unit is not intended to move into enemy territory and convert into infantry to circumvent the rules on Cavalry Raid limitations.
5.51 Procedure: A cavalry brigade may move when a cavalry general is activated (5.14). One SP stacked with a cavalry general is assumed to be a cavalry unit and moves at the cavalry movement rate. A cavalry general may not leave a space alone (even for a reorganization move) if only one SP is present unless another general (cavalry or regular) is present in the space. A cavalry brigade move ceases at the conclusion of a battle.
5.52 Cavalry Raid Limitations: A cavalry brigade can either flip a physical PC marker in a neutral space or remove a PC marker in a friendly space (one that bears the color code of that side) which contains an enemy PC marker, through the play of an OC. A cavalry brigade cannot place a PC marker in any space that was originally an enemy space or is currently a neutral space without a PC marker (e.g., in particular Confederate Resource spaces or a Capital space). Exception to Rule 11.1: A cavalry brigade (a cavalry general and one SP alone) cannot place PC markers during a Political phase. They still flip or remove PC markers during the PC phase.
Rule 5.73 (Change) …If the moving army or corps is twice the size or more of the defending force and wins the battle the army or corps can continue moving.
Rule 6.52: (Addition) A Confederate Riverine naval move can be intercepted. The battle is resolved as an amphibious invasion.
Rule 6.6 (Addition and clarification)
Naval control is denied to the Union player in the following cases:
1. In and between spaces controlled by Confederate forts and ironclads. Two forts on a contiguous stretch of river spaces (same river) would deny a section of the river to Union naval control.
2. Into Confederate ports whose associated coastal fort is Confederate controlled.
3. Between a Confederate fort/ ironclad and the end of a river that issues from a Confederate space in an original Confederate state.
Design Note: Union Naval Control should be thought of as a pressure that is exerted along all navigable rivers from the North and against Confederate coastline spaces from the Sea. Union naval pressure prevails unless the South can block the pressure with forts or ironclads. One way to think about it is Union Naval control emanates from where the Ohio (both ends) and the Mississippi River flows off the North edge of the map (even though they are not navigable at those points). At the beginning of the Campaign game Cairo is connected to those sources of Union naval pressure that flows down the Mississippi, Ohio, Cumberland and Tennessee rivers. The Confederate fort at Dover, TN (Forts Henry and Donaldson) blocks this pressure from reaching Nashville, TN. The Confederate fort at Columbus, KY blocks this pressure from reaching south along the Mississippi.
For the Confederate player to enter Cairo from the South, the Confederate player would have to have a fort at Paducah, or there would have to be additional Confederate forts upriver from Cairo, both on the Mississippi and Ohio rivers (e.g., St Louis, Vincennes and Louisville). Normally, the only way for the Confederate player to cross into Northern states without crossing around the end of the Ohio at Pittsburgh is to build forts at Paducah (KY), Louisville (KY), St Louis (MO), or Parkersburg (WVA).
Additionally, a Fort at Paducah, assuming there is no fort at Dover, TN would allow the Confederate player to cross the Tennessee river but not the Cumberland (you will note that the corner of the Paducah space cuts the Tennessee river but not the Cumberland). The implications of this are the Confederate player in this case could cross at Dover, Waynesboro and Pittsburg Landing, TN while being prohibited from crossing at Clarksville and Nashville.
Rule 6.6: (Addition) Union forces can move across navigable rivers where Union Naval control is denied. This includes the ability to enter spaces with Confederate ironclads.
Rule 6.93: (Exception) The Confederate play treats the Fort Monroe space as any other space for stacking purposes and may stack an unlimited number of SP in that space.
Rule 6.94: (Addition) An ungarrisoned Confederate controlled coastal fort changes sides (place appropriate Union PC marker) if its associated port changes sides to Union control. Basically, once a coastal fort is Union controlled, it cannot revert back to Confederate control (Exception: Fort Monroe, which the Confederate player may attack from land).
Rule 7.32 (Clarification) The loss calculation for winner or loser is the losses on the CRT, not those actually taken. The side that took the most losses on the CRT, not those actually taken, loses the battle.
Rule 7.8: (Addition) No force can inflict losses in excess of twice its strength, regardless of the CRT result, but never less than one if the result on the CRT calls for at least one lose (such as when an ungarrisoned coastal fort defends against an amphibious attack).
Rule 7.5: (Addition) DRMs can not be withheld from a battle to reduce the possibility of leader casualty.
Rule 7.61: (Clarification) The attacker decides which space the defender retreats into if the defender must retreat into an enemy controlled space and there is more than one such space available for retreat.
Rule 7.7: (Addition) If an attack is made at 1-3 or less odds, then there is no defender General Casualty die roll. The attacker still makes General Casualty die rolls if applicable. If an attack is made at 5-1 or greater odds there is no attacker General Casualty die roll. The defender still makes General Casualty die rolls if applicable.
Rule 10.2: (Addition) Generals can not use Strategic Movement.
Rule 10.2: (Clarification) Generals are placed before Strategic Movement.
Rule 10.3: (Clarification) Union reinforcements can be taken into multiple eligible spaces.
Rule 10.4: (Clarification) Confederate reinforcements can be taken directly into Coastal forts.
Rule 10.5: (Clarification) As long as a Blockade Runner zone has at least one open blockade runner port, the confederate player must attempt to make a blockade runner die roll. Note, there are no Blockade Runner die rolls during the first turn of any scenario, or during Game Turn 3.
Rule 10.61: (Clarification) A General can not be placed in a space that does not have an LOC.
Rule 10.62: (Exception) A General can not be placed in a leaderless army that does not have an LOC. If this situation occurs the player is free to place any other Generals in other spaces since he cannot fulfill the requirements for 10.62.
Rule 10.64: (Addition) If a Commanding General is being relieved other unrevealed Generals in the Army be examined to determine if additional SW penalties are in order to determine if a General is being promoted over higher P rated Generals. The unrevealed Generals remain on their unrevealed side.
Rule 15.2: (Correction) In the beginning of the 1863 scenario place a Union PC marker placed in the Fort Philip/ Jackson, LA space. Remove Union generals Buell and McClellan.
Rule 16.2: (Correction) Tennessee and Florida are a Union controlled states. Union Set up additions: General Hancock is with the Army of the Potomac, General McPherson is with the Army of the Cumberland, and General Reynolds is removed from play.


There are several "counter" cards (e.g., Mud March) that can be played during an opponent’s turn. If a player uses a "counter" card during an opponent’s card play, that player still takes his strategy round card play as normal.
There are several cards that provide additional SP (e.g., Glory Hallelujah). Each card specifies whether an LOC is required or not when placing these SP on the map. Assume an LOC is not required if the card doesn’t explicitly state an LOC is required.
Wilson Creek/ Belmont: The SPs move like a Corps since they move as if they had a General present.
Crittenden Compromise: Amend the card to read "…in spaces without SPs and which are not Resource, Coastal forts or Capital spaces."
Governor Harris, Tennessee Confederate: The Confederate player is prohibited from directly placing SPs into Pro-Union spaces, although they can subsequently be moved there through Strategic Movement.
Forward to Richmond: The Union advance may convert spaces by placing PC markers while implementing the Forward to Richmond card.
Red River Campaign: The way the Red River Campaign card works is the Union uses it as an OC card. If at the conclusion of movement a Union SP is in one of the stipulated spaces then a PC marker may be immediately placed in the objective space fulfilling the event requirement. If the Union fails to get a SP into one of the required spaces the SW penalty is incurred.
Foreign Intervention: The card may be played at anytime, but if it is played when the conditions are met then 4.92 effects are implemented immediately. This gives the Union an opportunity to lower the Confederate SW total in an attempt to avoid Foreign Intervention. It is presumed that the Confederate would play the card as soon as the conditions are met, but it isn't mandatory. If the card is played prior to its conditions being met, then the card is a discard that causes the deck to be reshuffled at the end of the turn. If the Foreign Intervention card is the last card played on the last strategy round, then the card can be used as an OC card, but causes the deck to be reshuffled. The full effects of the Foreign Intervention card if its conditions occur are:
1. Union Blockade Level is reduced by one.
2. The Union reduces his reinforcements by 2 SPs during each reinforcement phase (Union player choice) for the remainder of the game.
3. The Union suffers a -10 SW points penalty.
Empty Haversacks: The first condition on the card is a counter to an opposing move, the second condition referring to attrition, cannot be played as a counter, but played as a players normal card play. If this second condition is played against an enemy force which has no LOC the enemy force does NOT take a second attrition.